SPARK – Friday Fictioneers

campfire

Charred, skeletal trees point crazily upward. Underfoot, ash yields and shifts.  Air chokes, grips the throat. Sounds seem distant, disconnected.

I note the stooped shoulders and dragging pace of my teammates, moving toward the fire-trucks.  Drained faces, grey with fatigue, show relief – the old enemy is defeated. But I struggle for certainty, surveying my workmanship: this blackened mess.

I recall its beginning – when I touched the living spark to parched grass, and it crackled and caught, and glorious brightness raced through dry tinder then climbed into the leafy canopy above. The light and heat of it! The roar of it!

_____________________________

Thanks again to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting Friday Fictioneers, where writers are challenged to produce a 100 word story in response to a picture. This story is my response to this week’s picture, ‘Campfire’, also courtesy of Rochelle.

Campfires are cosy places, and fire is a useful friend – but I’ve chosen to ponder its less friendly face with this story. The allure of a warming blaze holds a dangerous power for some among us.

14 thoughts on “SPARK – Friday Fictioneers

  1. This certainly was an interesting twist – deliberate arson or controlled burn? Wonderful way to end – leaves the reader wanting more – which is sometimes best left to the imagination. Great job 🙂

    Like

  2. Margirene, It’s strange how the arsonist believes he’s part of the team of firemen who put out the fire. I’ve read that arsonists sometime come and offer to help put out the fire.they’re responsible.for. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    Like

  3. That’s interesting. I hadn’t considered taking the fire’s viewpoint. Thanks for commenting and I’m glad you shared that response with me. It made me go back myself and look at it again. Sticking to just 100 words is quite a challenge – trying to keep the key meaning without wasting words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

