The prize

Copyright - David Stewart

Copyright – David Stewart

The county’s top bands were gathering for tonight’s competition, and the whole village would be there. We had rehearsed with devotion, perfected our timing, and fine-tuned our complex movements until our synchronicity was faultless. We were ready.

At 10pm, to wild applause, the Blow-Out Brass Band stood to belt out “Big Noise from Winnetka”, nearly blasting the front row listeners from their seats.

At the same time, on cue, the front wall of the village bank was blasted into the street, and we were in and out of there in minutes and on our way, our prize secure.

*****

Here’s the tune, maybe not played with quite the same gusto as the Blow-Outs’ arrangement, but still entertaining. This story is my contribution to this week’s Friday Fictioneers, a weekly flash fiction challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

.

ย 

38 thoughts on “The prize

  1. What a cunning plan! I like the way you lead us into thinking your narrator has been rehearsing to play in the concert, while he’d actually been rehearsing something significantly less legal.

    Like

  2. Touch of the Ealing Comedies to this one.
    Guess what I’m listening to right now – it’s got to the weird whistling bit!
    Quite distracting actually but I guess that figures.
    Nice one.

    Like

    • The whistling is an odd touch, but maybe back then they were fond of it. I liked the big brass parts in it the best, plus the title – I needed some kind of big noise in there. Thank you for leaving a comment, and I’m glad you liked my story.

      Like

  3. A clever plan and i love the title of the piece of music,’Big Noise from Winnetka’ – which almost blasted people from their seats! The sudden twist at the end is perfect. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you, Millie. Actually my mother suggested this tune, and I’m glad I took her suggestion. It does have the perfect title for my story. There are quite a few versions of it on Youtube, so I wasted quite a bit of time in there. I’m glad you liked my ending too. Cheers.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Now every time I hear them belting out an extra loud tune on our local bandstand, I’ll wonder which bank is being targetted in the town! A story well told, Margaret, with absolute writerly precision, in fact!

    Like

Leave a Reply

