The Leader

image

Photo prompt for Friday Fictioneers. Copyright Dee Lovering.

Claudia struggled to breathe, fighting fatigue. She glanced at those nearest, avoiding eye contact, unsure of protocols.

The leader’s voice was deceptively soft as he bent them to his purposes. Claudia wished she had ignored the urgings of her friends and stayed away. She was suspicious of this man they worshipped, of anyone on too high a pedestal. Now, she felt her resistance melting, found herself drifting as she listened.

Suddenly he called out a command, then dropped to the ground. As one, the assembled devotees assumed the pose of the downward facing dog, and a sea of buttocks saluted the sky.

*****

Here’s a little demonstration if you’re curious. Thank you to Rochelle for hosting Friday Fictioneers.

21 thoughts on “The Leader

    • No, not a cult leader, this time. I’m so glad you liked my twist – I guess a twist is a pretty fitting ending to a yoga story. Thank you, Rochelle, for your comment.
      Cheers,
      Marg

      Like

    • Thank you, Gah. I’m so glad you got a laugh from my story – I don’t usually feel confident writing funny stuff, but sometimes it seems to come together. I appreciate your lovely feedback.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I was so sore, I couldn’t walk for two days after watching the video. 🙂 I’ve always thought yoga masters and workout instructors all had a sadistic streak in them. This proves it.

    Like

    • Russell, you’re supposed to do a gentle warmup before you start. Next time you want to watch that video, start by watching a warmup one. I guarantee – no sore muscles that way.
      Cheers,
      Marg

      Like

Leave a Reply

