Sisters

Copyright - C. Hase

Copyright – C. Hase

We are a secret sisterhood: Myra, Claudette and me, Eva. I was first. As yet, we haven’t met face to face. Subterfuge and patience have provided time to develop our strategy; our children and families are unaware, but our bonds are strong. We are linked by our mission.

Chance united us – an overlooked text message. He thought the distance between three cities would protect him, cover his tracks, but he got careless.

We’re nearly there. We’ve accumulated equity, drained his accounts, booked plane tickets. We used our heads, not our broken hearts.

Our husband chose well. We are no fools.

*****

This is my contribution to Friday Fictioneers, hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. The photo prompt this week is wonderfully suggestive. I’ve followed an idea sparked by the fantastic Aretha Franklin song featured in the link below, and I’ve just loved revisiting this dance sequence from the movie ‘Michael’. Have a look – you won’t be disappointed.

37 thoughts on “Sisters

    • They kept their wits about them and they’ll come out on top. I was imagining the three women and their kids happily established together in some luxury location, but with only 100 words to play with, I had to leave the form of their revenge to the readers’ imagination. I appreciate your feedback, Ali.

      Like

    • It’s quite a juggling act to strike the balance between over-explanation and obscurity. I’m happy you got it on the second reading, and thank you, Alicia, for persevering and for letting me know.

      Like

  1. I read it twice, too–just to make sure I understood what was happening. Clever story. Nuanced and unusual. Funny how the smallest mistake can unravel the deepest deception… You told a whole book in this flash fiction!

    Like

  2. Yes, you go, girls. They forged a chain that’s stronger than anything he oculd have come up with. I hope they won’t break it after they’ve had their revenge. Great story.

    Like

    • I could watch that scene again and again. I love it. Not sure if it’s the big coat, or just the way he’s built the character. I know it’s a bit corny, but who cares? I’m glad my story worked for you, and the ending particularly. Thank you for letting me know.

      Like

  3. I heard stories like that, but it’s hard to imagine how one man could keep three women in the dark for very long. I’ve always loved Aretha’s “Chain of Fools.” I played in a blues band for a number of years and that song always filled up the dance floor (along with Mustang Sally). A very imaginative story, Margaret.

    Like

    • I don’t think it would be possible with today’s communication, really. Makes a fun story, though. It’s a great song, isn’t it? I’m not surprised it filled dance floors. And Mustang Sally! Another good one. I think I’ll need to have another wander down Youtube’s memory lane. Thanks for your nice comment, Russell. I appreciate the encouragement.

      Like

Leave a Reply

