Just another Monday

Copyright - Sandra Crook

Copyright – Sandra Crook

Another Monday morning – Pierre steps outside to cycle to his shop. As usual, the high street is quiet, and young Francois nods good morning as he passes. Today’s papers are stacked neatly, ready for anyone interested in the outside world.

He pauses, listens. There’s a rumbling, nearby.

“Stand back, you old fool,” someone bellows, and Pierre hugs the wall as a helicopter swoops, a tornado of pumping legs whirls by, then swerving vehicles and a running, screaming mob, cameras aloft.

As they disappear around the corner, Pierre gazes after them, stunned. The morning rush hour is getting crazier. He’ll leave earlier in future.

*****

This is my offering for Friday Fictioneers, somewhat late. Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for looking after this weekly flash fiction challenge.

In my house, the Tour de France provides late night viewing each July. No, we’re not really cycling fans, but there’s something captivating about the event, and its wonderful images of the French countryside, and interesting snippets of information about French cooking, French cheesemaking, French wine production etc. I wanted to make Pierre a cheesemaker, but there were no words to spare for such character details.

There are plenty of images and videos of the race online, but this little one shows some crazy cycling mishaps; and I hope no animals or humans were harmed in the making of it.

26 thoughts on “Just another Monday

    • It certainly would be a disruption. I hope the benefits outweigh the inconvenience and the mess for the villages they go through. Thank you for your lovely comment, Alicia. I struggled a bit with how to end it, and I would have liked to build up Pierre’s character more, but that’s the challenge, isn’t it?

      Like

  1. You filled in this scene beautifully, Margaret. What a great take. I’ve seen a couple of cycling events and they do have that whoosh feeling to them! Watched the video, too. Lots of slipping and sliding going on. Very funny!

    Like

    • Thank you, Amy. I really wanted to do more with the story, but I couldn’t fit any more in, so UI’m so glad you found the scene setting ok. The video is funny, isn’t it? I did feel a bit guilty laughing at all those mishaps, though.

      Like

    • Poor Pierre is quite shocked – he hasn’t been keeping up with the world outside the village. I believe he never picks up a newspaper from the news stand. I wonder if that’s the secret to having a stress free life. Thanks for your feedback. Cheers, Marg.

      Like

    • Life is a mad rush sometimes, and weekday rush hours are the worst. Cycle races are something else again – I don’t know how those in the lead can concentrate in such a crush of bodies and machines. Thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice one. I imagine walking in the way of highly competitive athletes while they are competing, the outcome will probably be just as Pierre experienced. I can only watch 15 minutes of the tour in a day but I guess some fans watch the whole thing.

    Like

    • That’s a dangerous fantasy, Subroto. I hope you don’t actually do it. If you have a chance to look at the link I’ve included, you’ll see some similarly crazy antics by onlookers at bike races. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  3. We have an annual event here called Bikes, Blues, and BBQ. Obviously, it’s not on the same scale from an international perspective as the Tour de France, but it does bring almost a half million people here for a 3 to 4 day event. Most of the bikers and friendly and polite, but the noise is deafening and the traffic horrendous. I’m always glad when it’s over.

    Like

    • Wow, that sounds exciting. I’d like the blues and barbecue parts more than the bikes, I must admit. Half a million people is a large number – I can imagine the disruption to normal life would be annoying.

      Like

    • Was it really? That must have been exciting, but also quite an interruption to the normal routines of your life. I hope the Pierres of your town survived the experience. I’m so glad you liked my story – thank you for leaving a comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

