Kevin’s hedge

crook

Copyright – Sandra Crook

Kevin was a private man. For a while, he had a wife, Alice, but his box hedge was his obsession. Every evening, there would be Kevin, watering, pruning, coaxing each branch into position until the hedge seemed more fortress than bush.  Alice offered to help, but he’d growl and raise his secateurs threateningly. Alice feared for her life.

In time Kevin died, and Alice returned, to destroy her rival at last.

The bobcat laboured, uprooting the hedge, while Alice watched. Suddenly there was a sharp, splintering crunch, and an explosion of banknotes erupted skyward.

That night, Alice toasted Kevin’s memory.

*****

This is my offering for Friday Fictioneers, hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. I think this week I’ve achieved my personal best for late submission. I hope there might still be one or two tenacious readers out there with sufficient  stamina remaining to pay a visit and read my story.

Read the other stories here.

21 thoughts on “Kevin’s hedge

  1. Good story, Margaret. That would be a great place to hide treasure. I would have never thought of that. Good for Alice. Kevin should have enjoyed some of that money while he was living. A miser can’t seem to do that, though. Well written. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

  2. I’m here, I’m here! I so like that you incorporated the hedge into your story. I think you may be the first story I read this week that did that. Well done! What an inventive story. It’s no wonder he was protective of that hedge. Lucky for Alice, time doesn’t factor into using that money. It’s still good as new.

    Like

    • Hi Amy. I’m so glad you’re here. I had so much trouble thinking of a story this week – my worst ever. I thought this was going to be the first prompt I’ve missed since I started, and I was feeling disappointed with myself. The hedge was the way my thoughts went – such as they were. I got nothing at all for the hourglass thing. Thank you for your encouraging words. I’m delighted that you enjoyed the story. Yes Alice’s windfall is time-proof.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Alice will enjoy her new fortune, I’m sure. I think once we’ve settled on an idea for a story, the other components of the prompt can be overlooked. I must say, however, this week I thought I’d be producing nothing, so I’m very happy you liked my story. Many thanks.

      Like

    • It’s amazing how we all focus on different bits of the prompt. I was surprised so few others used the hedge – it’s such a big hedge! Thank you for your lovely words, Rochelle.

      Like

    • Thanks, Gah. I zeroed in on the hedge straight away. It might be that I did a time travel story last week and wanted to do something different this time. However, it took me ages to get from the picture to a completed story, so I’m glad you liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

