Fowl play

Photo prompt © Ayr/Gray

Fowl play

She floats into the office like she owns it. A classy blonde with deepwater eyes, and a trick of arching her long neck and pinning you to the wall with an uppercut look. The type my mother warned me about. Says her name’s Helen and never mind about surnames. That’s her point, she says.

She claims her mother’s been spouting a tale that would ruffle the feathers of an angel. A mishap, Mother’s calling it. Years ago some handsome fellow flew in needing comfort and Daddy didn’t seem to mind at the time. 

Now twenty years on Mummy dear suddenly gets the urge to come clean and the family’s in uproar.

Never pays to give in to the guilts, I always say. What’s done is done.

It isn’t just paternity or inheritance issues, claims Helen, there are higher stakes. 

These types worry about such things. Bloodlines, who’s entitled to lord it over the others. The upshot is the kiddos are in a dither trying to work it all out. 

I ask for details and she describes a stately home, lakeside, with egg collections under glass. Is that a clue? I make a note to follow that up.

Whatever’s gone on, the family reputation has nosedived and the doll wants answers. Can I help?

She leaves with a flick of her long white feather boa and I figure I need some thinking time. I collect my sandwiches and a flask of tea and head to the lake to watch the swans.

*****

Leda, by Gustave Moreau

If your word count’s twofifty or fewer,

there’s a risk of becoming obscure.

Click the picture right here

and all will be clear.

Flash fiction makes ancient tales newer.

🦢🦢🦢

This 250 word story is for The Unicorn Challenge, hosted by Jenne Gray and C. E. Ayr.

23 thoughts on “Fowl play

      • I don’t always catch the nuances of the story. But I did check to see if swans could have gray feathers. They do when they are young.
        We never know when or where a post might lead our readers.
        If I were a swan I would be quite young. 😉

        Liked by 2 people

        • I didn’t know about the juvenile feathers. Now I must check whether our black swans start out the same way. And yes, I think I’d be with you – a baby swan.

          Like

  1. I love the voice in this, Margaret. The descriptions of the ‘blonde doll’ take me right into Sam Spade’s office… I can just hear it all.
    And a fine dig at the rich and entitled.
    As for the title – excellent!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Jenne. I really enjoy writing like this. I’ve used this character in a few little stories, but I realised for the first time with this one that I’m much happier using first person for him, so I’m happy to have discovered that. My husband is a Raymond Chandler tragic, and although I’ve never read a detective novel in my life, he often shares his favourite bits.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like how you used the inspiration from the photo. And I think heading to the lake to watch the swans is the perfect remedy to just about anything! This: “Never pays to give in to the guilts”… do you have instructions on how to do that?!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pulp fairy tales!
    Excellent.

    (Tricky thing you’ve managed: the ‘just the facts’/spare dialogue of the genre with a healthy dose of ‘words? they’re like a Whitman’s Sampler for the action.)
    cool

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment