Cutting it fine

Quinn arrived painfully, tumbling over a rocky surface. The beam hovered above. He had only minutes.

He looked around, alarmed by the devastation he saw. Something was wrong; this was a bleak, dying, place, just like home. He hadn’t travelled back far enough. He scrambled for his oxygen mask, wondering why he hadn’t already succumbed to toxic air. Somehow, he was breathing.

Bewildered, he studied his surroundings. Not the moist, green countryside he’d hoped for, then, but perhaps, if he searched …

There! Just metres away – vibrant splashes of vegetation, magnificent. He rushed to gather specimens, aware of time running out.

trg1

Copyright – The reclining gentleman

Once again this 100 word story is for Friday Fictioneers. Thank you to Rochelle, who posts a picture prompt each week and reads and comments on every story. Thanks also to all the writers who contribute inspiring and entertaining stories. You can read them here.

Friday Fictioneers are generous in their support and encouragement of  members’ writing efforts outside the nurturing walls of FriFic. I very much appreciate the congratulations and wonderful comments I received for my first prize-winning story last week, and Rochelle’s kind mention of it on her site this week.

33 thoughts on “Cutting it fine

    • He didn’t get to see the lush, thriving Earth his contemporaries have heard about, but I’m glad he travelled back far enough in time to be able to find something still surviving. Thank you for your comment, and for your congratulations.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. A good sci-fi story, Margaret. At least, he got to see a planet not quite as bad as in the future and get samples. Actually, the earth will survive in time. We’re the ones who have to worry. Well done. Congratulaitons again on your winning story. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

  2. I love your sci-fi take on this, Margaret. I wonder if what you think is true about us. The only way Earth will survive is if we’re not around. It makes you wonder. I don’t think we’ll ever get it right. I think it’s a question of if we will die slowly or last a bit longer. It’s not a very comforting thought. Great story! Congrats again on your winning story. How exciting!

    Like

    • I wonder about it, too. I’m certainly no scientist, so all I can do is speculate. I do fear that our species is making a big mess of things, however, and I wish we weren’t. I’m glad you enjoyed my story, in any case, Amy. Thank you for your kind words, and for your congrats again.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment